Cakes by Sarah

Cherry cake with a cherry on top

Posted on: February 4, 2011

I made this cake for our neighbor because he is always snow blowing our driveway and sidewalk. Wednesday we were hit with a lot of snow and there he was out there with his snow blower. I wanted to do something for him, so I asked what I could bake for him. He perked right up to say that his wife’s birthday was on Thursday and a surprise birthday cake would be great. A couple of questions for details and an idea popped in my head. He wanted a cherry cake (one of his wife’s favorited flavors) and the rest was up to me. So I drew a couple of sketches and thought that this one was the best. The cherry on top is cherry cake with buttercream frosting and fondant over it to give it the smooth look of a cherry. The stem is a kabob wrapped in gum paste. The bottom cake is cherry cake with buttercream and fondant. This is one of my favorites by far right now. The nice look of it was just perfect for my neighbor’s wife. I delivered the cake and they could not believe how good it looked. Getting better with each cake is turning out to be a great part of my cake making journey. I really can’t wait to see what is next!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • sarahjcheek: The tutu of this cake is made by upside down hearts!
  • Brody Little: Your cake is amazing! Do you have a guide on how to make the tutu for this cake?
  • Leisl: This is an awesome cake. A friend found this picture and wants me to make one like it for her. Can you tell me what size cakes you used?

Categories

